A song for Trayvon Martin

This is one verse of two from a song I’m working on inspired by the Trayvon Martin tragedy, …and the countless others just like it which happen every year.

Lyrics only

Yes No
” No I’m not seeking trouble yes I am gonna find it
Even when I hide it seeks me out and tries shit
No I’m not on the run yes I am reminded
Every day of my life we were stolen and blinded 4
No I’m not angry yes I am a Black man
Guess that gets me labeled as a villain in this land
No I’m not your enemy yes I am the bad guy
In your eyes so you should ask why 8
No I’m not stupid yes I am intelligent
The way I choose to dress is just irrelevant
No I’m not illiterate yes I am belligerent
Because you treat me like a second class citizen 12
No I’m not an ex-con yes I am a free man
I’m a young man trying to drink my tea man
No I’m not American yes I am American
Wait up can you tell me what it means again 16
To some of you killers it’s the right to own guns
Just so you can hunt me and mine down for fun
Most of you are black some of you are white
Whatever killing over colors ain’t right 20
White red or blue black red or green
By any means necessary everybody dreams
So an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth
Leaves the whole world blind eating rotten soup 24
Let’s say Cain killed Abel then their pops killed him
Then the children of Cain came back for the win
Well you get the picture and you know I quote the scripture right
Cause how can you fight to bear arms and be pro life? 28
It’s like you want to supersize it but don’t want to get fat
It’s like you want to surprise me and say that I attacked
No I’m not Trayvon Martin yes I am like him
I wear a hoodie and I’ll stand my ground fighting – to the death 32″

Thoughts, comments and ideas are welcomed
Until next time
Megaciph

Leave a Reply

